add tag

Tags you are adding:

Marvel Announces Three Star Wars Comic Book Titles

By Danny F. Santos (doddleNEWS)

San Diego Comic-Con has come to a close and, boy, if you’ve never experienced it, then you owe it to yourself to try and get in next year. Massive doesn’t even begin to describe the convention, but as such, there is no possible way to experience everything.

The excitement around the Marvel Studios panel was palpable in Hall H ,but that’s not the only Marvel news at the convention. At the Cup O’ Joe panel, Marvel Comics released their plans for the Star Wars saga in comic book form, once Dark Horse’s take comes to an end.

Marvel will be releasing two new, ongoing series and one miniseries. The first of which will simply be called Star Wars, and will pick up right after the events on Yavin (A New Hope), and follow our original trilogy heroes from the classic series, and will be released January 2015. The second series, with a February 2015 release date, is called Star Wars: Darth Vader, and will also pick up after the events of Yavin but from the Dark Lord’s point of view. Turns out, he’s not so popular after being the sole survivor of the loss of the Empire’s greatest weapon. Palpatine is pissed.

The final comic book is a 5-issue miniseries with a March 2015 release, and if you’ve been playing close attention, then you’ve seen a pattern emerging. It will be called Star Wars: Princess Leia, and will pick up, that’s right, just after the Battle of Yavin, and will show her rise from a princess to a key leader in the Rebel Alliance.

Classic Marvel Star Wars!

We’ve had novels, comics, and other stories set in this time period before, but since most of that canon has been brushed to the side, we’ll get all new stories set in that time frame. That’s not to say that some of the elements of those stories won’t end up in the new series, but fans of the Expanded Universe should expect departures from the original EU-established canon. As such, these new comics — and animated TV shows — will be considered canon to all past, present, and future movies and animated series.

Here’s the press release from Marvel:

New York, NY -- July 28th, 2014 -- Lucasfilm Ltd. and Marvel Entertainment are extremely proud to announce the iconic Star Wars franchise will return to Marvel in 2015 with a line-up of three comic book titles chronicling the adventures of a galaxy far, far away. Beginning in January 2015, prepare forSTAR WARS by writer Jason Aaron (ThorOriginal Sin), artist John Cassaday (Astonishing X-Men) and colorist Laura Martin, DARTH VADER by writer Kieron Gillen and artist Salvador Larroca and PRINCESS LEIA by writer Mark Waid and artist Terry Dodson.

Taking place immediately after the events of Star Wars: A New Hope, the Force returns to Marvel in January with three new series spotlighting beloved characters from the iconic trilogy! Created in close partnership with Lucasfilm, the three new Star Wars series will exist as part of the canon for the Star Wars universe!

It all starts this January when Jason Aaron, John Cassaday and Laura Martin take fans back to the days following the destruction of the first Death Star in STAR WARS!?Discussing the flagship series, writer Jason Aaron tells, "Every story is about the characters, and we’ll focus on all the old favorites. There will be big moments for everyone, from Han to R2-D2. But a major part of the narrative will be driven by Luke Skywalker and his journey of discovery, a journey that will decide the fate of the entire galaxy."

However, the return of the Rebel Alliance to Marvel Comics also invites the return of its opposition, the Imperial Forces of the Galactic Empire and in February 2015, Kieron Gillen plans to delve into the psyche of one of the vilest villains of all time with the new ongoing seriesDARTH VADER. Witness the struggle for the freedom of an entire galaxy -- from the Dark Side!

"Vader’s the sole survivor of the greatest military disaster in history -- and a disaster that he definitely had a hand in by letting the rebels escape with the plans for the Death Star. This is not a thing which leaves you in anybody’s good books, let alone the Emperor's," says writer Kieron Gillen. "The great thing about this period [between Star Wars: A New Hope and Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back]is what we don’t see on the screen. Vader learns who Luke Skywalker is at some point between the two movies, to choose but one example."

Then, in March 2015, Mark Waid & Terry Dodson bring you the harrowing tale of loss and hope in the 5-issue limited series PRINCESS LEIAFresh from the Rebel Alliance's victory at the Battle of Yavin, Leia must confront the reality that her homeworld has been destroyed. But in the light of such tragedy, there is always hope. Skilled equally with diplomacy as she is a blaster, witness the rise of one of the greatest heroines in history as she takes her rightful place as one of the Alliance's peerless leaders!

"Does she choose to be a Princess of nothing -- or does she set out to rebuild her heritage and civilization?" says writer Mark Waid.

Again, the world of Luke, Han, Chewbacca, Leia and even Vader make their historic return to the House of Ideas beginning next year! Take your first step into a larger world with STAR WARS #1DARTH VADER #1and PRINCESS LEIA #1? In 2015!?For more on Star Wars please visit and join in the conversation on Twitter with #StarWars. To experience Star Wars online, visit or follow Star Wars on FacebookTumblrTwitterInstagramGoogle+ or YouTube.

Written by JASON AARON
Art & Cover by JOHN CASSADAY
Coming January 2015!

Coming February 2015!

Written by MARK WAID
Art & Cover by TERRY DODSON
Coming March 2015!

The post Marvel Announces Three Star Wars Comic Book Titles appeared first on Doddle.